My health insurance keeps denying me coverage for ADHD meds - Please, anyone help

thespeedboy

I'm 30 years old and have just been diagnosed with ADHD about 2 weeks ago. I'm a high school teacher in Arkansas. My insurance is ARBenefits - I'm on the "classic plan," which is a middle-of-the-road HDHP option. You can see all the info here. My plan's benefits PDF is here, and the preferred drug list is found here. The insurance company's explanation of reference pricing can be found here.

Here's the rundown on what's been happening so far:
  • Wednesday, 12-2:
  1. Got ADHD diagnosis from my counseling therapist, scheduled an appointment with Dr. for the next Wednesday afternoon. Life is good and things make sense. I feel hopeful for the first time in a while.
  • Wednesday 12-9:
  1. Saw Dr., he agreed that I had ADHD, wrote me a prescription for Vyvanse 20mg and cancelled my old prescription for Bupropion, which I've been on for a while as an antidepressant because I was diagnosed as depressed before we figured out I had ADHD, but bupropion in higher doses makes me feel awful and wouldn't play well with other ADHD meds. I still had 14 days worth of it. Made me a little uncomfortable to cut that lifeline, but I was excited to try to actually treat the problem of ADHD rather than the symptom of depression.
  2. I went to Walgreen’s, only to be told that my insurance is refusing to cover my medication because I’m too old. I freak out and have a little meltdown and leave, embarrassed, with the knowledge that they may cover the medication if they got a preauthorization, whatever the crap that is. Without insurance the medication is $400/month, which is about 15% of my income. Uh, nope. Unfortunately, I learned about the preauthorization mere minutes after the clinic was closed for the day, so I couldn’t do anything but wait.