My fixed salary is stagnant since 2022. What should I do?

pink318

Background: I'm an MBA graduate of 2020, from one of the prestigious Indian b-schools. Got a PPO which got revoked due to COVID. Joined an e-commerce company by taking a 30% paycut.

I'll be completing 4 years in this firm soon. Have received good rating in each cycle and got promoted in 2022.

Currently I make 1.5L per month (in-hand post tax). Last year received additional ~8 L as part of buyback and 2L as variable pay. I expect to recieve good ESOPs in this cycle too and I expect the company to go for an IPO next year.

My dilemma is should I continue in the same firm for another year waiting for the IPO or should I start looking for a switch to increase my fixed salary?

@pink318 If you get a switch worth the money, go for it.
If not, you are in a better place than us to determine if the ESOPs are worth staying in or not.

@pink318 ESOPs are often vested over 3-5 years. And the vested ESOPs can only be sold after a certain time period. These are some retention tactics HRs employ. Depending on your designation and your anticipated ESOP value, you can make a call.

Personally, I’d rather hold ESOPs of a startup which has the potential for tremendous growth in the initial years which will be considerably higher than whatever salary hikes you would be getting.

Good luck OP!

@pink318 Not going to IPO next year, IPO is a long drawn process. Best case scenario it will go to IPO in 2026 ), even then employees would have 1 year lock in period I think before they can sell their stocks to public

@pink318 An old grad here from a relatively reputed B school.

If you like what they are doing and trust your organisation's vision then there is merit and staying put where you are and growing along with the organisation. The credibility that you build as you spend more time doing good work in a growing organisation can take you to greater heights.