cleocarter

I'm a Maryland resident currently stationed in California, paying MD taxes. My wife (married Jan 2023) made roughly $900 in Virginia and paid VA taxes. Having a Maryland and Virginia W-2, would I file joint federally and separately for state? Trying to use TurboTax or H&RBlock, and this is where I'm confused:

HR: VA residency has me selecting Part-year (moved in or out, which she did, I didnt) or Non-Resident (Didn't live there but worked there and made money there). Which would I select? If I select Non-Resident, which seems to make more sense, it asks me if I'm MFS or MFJ. Selecting MFJ provides two options, either We both have Virginia Income or only I have Virginia income, which neither is true. Selecting MFS says I am the primary taxpayer, so it will be my MFS return, and then asks for information from the VA 760 form, which we don't have.

Would I just have to file a joint federal return, and then do two separate returns for each of our state incomes? It's my first time filing my own taxes, so I'd like to make sure I do them correctly. I really don't wanna have the IRS banging my door down because I did something wrong. I also don't want to pay for a Live Chat through either service or go in-store to file them if I don't have to. Any answers anyone might have are greatly appreciated!

@cleocarter I can only speak from own experience. My spouse and I are both AD. I am a Nebraska resident and he's Tennessee (no state tax). We file our federal taxes jointly and it's pretty simple.