Moving countries (EU), switching banks, payroll and tax questions

luna70

Hey, I'm looking to move to a different country within the EU, and also technically starting a new job in another country, and this has raised many financial questions in me. I'll explain without specifically naming the countries if that's okay, so I'll use A B C D to represent them for privacy, these are all within the EU.

Country A is where I currently reside/work/am a citizen atm.

Country B is where I want to move to.

Country C is where I also am a citizen but do not reside.

Country D is where I'll be getting freelance work from.

So rn I live in A, but the taxes are ridiculously high, and the country is crap, so I want to move to B in like 1-2 years. I work as a freelancer, I'm doing fine, but my country has limits to how much you can earn as a freelancer, and I'm nearing that limit especially if I take the offer of D, and if I go over the freelance limit I should have to create a company for tax purposes, but if I do I'd be losing so much money on taxes that it wouldn't even be worth taking the new job from country D.

So that got me thinking, since I want to move countries I probably could open a bank account there and get D to send the money to my account in country B, and I assume I'd have to pay tax on it there, and if I would have to, I'd definitely be losing less money all in all, even if I have to create a company to do all of it in country B. But this is where it gets confusing to me, so here are my questions:

Can I even open a bank account in country B if I'm not a citizen, and am not (YET) residing there? (like generally, or does this vary by country?)

If I can open one, and country D sends my pay there, I assume I pay taxes to country B for this income, and not country A correct?

So if I live in country A, but have a bank account and pay income taxes in country B (or C if I end up not moving) is that generally legal? Or is this some form of tax fraud?