Monte Carlo Simulation of net worth in Python..

prodigalson8523

I'll start by saying I'm not a Python expert - just a dabbler so there is probably a far better way to do this...

Background

I'm 100% in equities at the moment, but approaching that final 1/3 of my investing life. I've started to think about my 'transition to bonds' plan and what this might mean for my retirement FIRE number so I built a python app that uses Monte Carlo simulation to model my portfolio.

I've taken historic performance data for the S&P500, Treasury & Corporate Bonds, and inflation since 1929 and found the distribution of this data in terms of average and standard deviation. I''ve then created weight growths for 100% equities, 90/10, 80/20, 70/30 etc. I've used all of this data to run 500,000 sims of my lifetime for each of these allocations. I get some simple stats and a distribution curve of my balance for each of the simulations. I understand this US centric view might not give a 100% accurate picture, but given the US is ~70% of the global market it's a fair guess to say that over time what ever the US market does the world is likely to follow.

Anyway I wanted to share the code for review, feedback, or just to use yourself in your own models.

Code:
import random
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import numpy as np
import statistics as st
from scipy.stats import norm

def monte_carlo_simulation(starting_balance, average_growth, std_dev, years, periodic_payment):
    # list to store the results of each iteration
    results = []
    return_per = []
    # number of iterations to run
    iterations = 500000

for i in range(iterations):
        # current balance set to starting balance
        balance = starting_balance
        for j in range(years):
            # add periodic payment to balance
            balance += periodic_payment
            # increase balance by growth prediction percentage
            growth = random.normalvariate(average_growth, std_dev)