(M/23) Inheriting $400,000, what should I do with the money? (8 Month UPDATE)

maeflower

Hey r/ausfinance

8 months ago I posted to this subreddit explaining my current situation and in seek of some guidance on some possible ways to invest $400,000 that was coming my way. Heres the link:

Update:

So, next month I'll be receiving 1/3 of the inheritance money ($130,000ish) - the remaining money will be held in a testamentary fund until I turn 25 (roughly a year). I'm still studying full time at UNI and working part-time. Currently saved up $20,000 of my own money, -$5,000 from last year due to a recent very large expense.

Since the post last year, there has been a few things I've done in preparation for receiving the money:
  • Recently sought out a Financial Planner - His currently preparing me a statement of advice. I've explained to him that my aims for the investment in the sharemarket are long term (7yrs+), and that I understand that market corrections/crashes are practically imminent and shouldn't necessarily be making any rash decisions based on the current market trends (i.e. OMG! Sell! Sell! Sell!). My current thoughts are to invest roughly 50% of the total inheritance - 30-40% with the help of the financial planner and the other 10-20% in ETFs through Vanguard. My ultimate goal is FI/RE.
  • As you might have guessed, I'm planning on dividing up the capital into chunks:
    • 50% Sharemarket
    • 40% Deposit for future IP or PPOR
    • 10% Liquid cash (Emergency fund, potential wedding money, newer used car, etc.)
  • Currently planning on getting a Will made up so that I can detail where I want my assets to go in event of my death (yikes). I'm planning to propose to my girlfriend soon also (the ring is currently getting made), so a prenup may be in order aswell - we've somewhat spoken about it, she actually supports it.
  • Opened a new bank account with ING - offers a far better interest rate comparing to Commbank.