Looking for some insight on my current situation

crose90

Hi everyone, I [32M] would appreciate some advice on my current financial situation. I’m a freelance designer and web developer living in Los Angeles. I’ve been trying to ride out this economic downturn, but I would like to take more deliberate action to improve my situation. I’m including a list of my bills if it helps. Here goes:
  • I’m making $2K per month with 1 design client (cut down from $4K per month last fall)
  • My living expenses are about $3250 (this includes rent, bills, food and debt payments)
  • I’m supporting my finance [32F] who is in school getting her PhD, and our 2 year old daughter. My fiancé makes her own money here and there but not consistently
  • I’m about $20K in debt, $12K of which is student loans, the rest is debt that’s been accumulated over the past year since my income fell below my expenses.
Here is my non student loan debt breakdown:
  • Capital One Card 1: $5050, maxed out at 27%
  • Capital One Card 2: $300, maxed out at 28%
  • $3K Personal Loan: < $1800 left on the loan at 429% (I know, I know), and I pay $83 every other week
  • $1500 owed to a family member at 0%
The expense sheet I included are really just my basics and doesn’t include that I should be spending money on as well. Here are some examples:
  • Spending money for myself
  • Saving/Investing money for myself
  • Contributions to my daughters investment account
  • Life insurance
  • A car (I don’t have one. I don’t necessarily need one but something A to B would be nice to have sometimes)
  • Childcare and other activities for my daughter