Looking for Investment Advice for small sum of money

caleb86

Hi r/MalaysianPF, I am a 23 y/o fresh graduate who currently has abt 30k in the bank from past job savings. Currently I am working full time with a 3k salary.

Currently what I have been advised is:
- save 6 months of salary (18k) as an emergency fund in FD or Savings Account
- save an additional 19% of my income into EPF
- use the remaining as investment funds to grow a diversified mid-risk portfolio.

Looking for:
- pointers, where and how to start. What should I he investing in. Technically open to everything stocks, funds, crypto, epf, reits, propety etc.
- how much should I diversify to each category of investment.
- MPlus, Rakuten or other trading platforms, whats the difference and why?
- should I be getting a credit card to pay bills to start building credit score ? (Not a heavy spender, generally spends on necessities and occasional food hunts)

Thank you fellow Redditors in advance. Am abit dumb when it comes to investment / money 🙏

@caleb86 Firstly, props to you for thinking about investing at a young age.

To answer your questions:
  • As you're working, you're automatically contributing to EPF (unless you're not, then that's a separate issue). Crypto is very risky (more so than the rest), so do your own research and invest *very* sparingly. Not saying go all-in, but don't discount it.
  • Stocks has some "required reading and analysis" before you start, so you'll need to do research before committing to buying any stocks. If you're not too sure what to buy, do an analysis of "companies that are involved in your life" to narrow down which companies you should research. This also applies to REITS as well.