Looking for advice, is the career change worth it? Should I take out loans or not?

alicoobasta

Firstly, thank you to this community for your advice and perspective. It’s a continued pleasure to be able to read and learn from the experience of this community. Following are my current positions:

——— Equity ———

Edward Jones: $64k

HYSA: $123k

Schwab: $10k

401K: $13k

Investment Property: $181k

——— Debt ———

Corolla: $13k

Investment Property: $153k

33M

Current Salary: $110k w/ add’l ~$18k comp. ($128k more or less)

Rent: $3820 (NYC)

Other Bills: ~$1k

I feel a little behind. I could've saved much more, but I've been pursuing work skills more than money for a few years. Also, I didn't get a handle of my career path until I was 26-27 y/o.

The main reason for asking for your perspective is as follows:

I'm considering a career change in the near future. I've found a love for flying and have seen so many people commenting on how rewarding and well-paying that career can be. So far, I've accumulated enough hours for a PPL and have flown for about 9 months now. This hobby and career is very expensive and continuing to fly has led me to be saving much less than I previously was. I've spent ~$15k in the past 9 months, and I'm looking at a continued expenditure of much more than that if I pursue this career.

From a financial perspective, what would you say is the best path forward? Is it best to quit the day job, focus on flying, take out some loans for the schooling and move towards this career at full speed? Or continue to spend 100% of my income (perhaps a little more) and leave my equity positions to grow? I've heard and researched the cost of getting a commercial pilots license, and it seems to be ~$100k, which I could pay for out of pocket. But it's taken so long to accumulate the cash on hand that I have, I'd hate to lose that position for a career change.