Lisa vs. Pension vs. S&S - for first time buyer (above 450K)

nxcess

I’m a freelance 29 y/o designer earning around £60K per year living in London.

I currently have a Moneybox account with about £15K split between:
  • Pension (Global shares ESG)
  • S&S ISA (FTSE, S&P)
  • LISA (Cash)
  • Savings account (4.4%)
I want to know how to best split my monthly savings (~£1,200) in order to save for a house and rainy day. I worry the LISA could be useless because I won’t be buying a house for less than the £450K threshold so therefore it’s pretty much only useful as a pension pot after age 60.

My strategy is go heavy on the S&S (50%), 15/20% for the others so I have access to cash if I need it.

Any recommendations or thoughts welcome.

Cheers 🫶🏻🤝🏼

@nxcess What is your retirement plan? The age you want to stop working will help guide your answer.

Work out how much you would need in ISAs to bridge the gap to cracking open a SIPP/private pension.

Then you need to work out how much you need in your pension to bridge the gap to state pension/run alongside it.

Use a compound interest calculator to work out the potential amounts you would have in future for each pot. This should then help you to work out how much you should be putting into pension, retirement ISA and house savings ISA to reach the figure you need at the age you need it.

This is based on you running each pot down to zero, or at the very least heavily running them down, so if you’re wanting to create a self sustaining pot you would need higher numbers across the board.