dmtisesp

I have RSUs & ESPP through my employer but I know I'm overconcentrated (too many eggs in one basket). I have shares accumulated at different prices over a period of time, some with unrealised gains & unrealised losses.

I'm new to investing but after some research I 'think' I understand the general principles of cost basis calculation & the Irish rules of FIFO, LIFO & Wash Sale (including bed & breakfast strategy) & tax loss harvesting. Am I missing any other Irish rules I should be aware of?

What I don't understand however is;
  1. How to identify & implement the optimal divestment strategy that reduces my holdings/exposure whilst maximising profits & minimising losses?
  2. Are there any general rules of thumb to follow? E.g.
  • Sell shares with the highest after-tax value first (i.e. ones with highest gain & highest effective cost basis), working your way to down to ones with lowest after-tax value (i.e. ones with lowest gain & lowest effective cost basis). Does this sound right?
  • Use tax loss harvesting to minimise tax, use yearly CGT exemption (including Bed & Breakfast strategy), avoid Wash Sales where possible.
  • Anything else?
  1. Do I really need to pay a financial advisor to do this for me to identify the optimal shares to sell at any given point in time or is there somewhere I can learn this myself?
  2. How to apply the FIFO rule while tracking cost basis correctly to stay on the right side of Revenue.
With FIFO for example, if I have multiple lots bought with different share quantities, at different dates & at different prices (some with unrealised gains & losses), e.g. lots A to F inclusive, such as;
  • Lot A: 15 shares purchased at €10.
  • Lot B: 6 shares at €16
  • Lot C: 6 shares at €18
  • Lot D: 6 shares at €20
  • Lot E: 23 shares at €22
  • Lot F: 30 shares at €12