Is now a good time to buy NISA?

jwray

Looking at Rakuten eMAXIS Slim U.S. Stock (S&P500). I had meant to get into this a couple years ago, but I’ve just recently got my finances in order. It appears to be at an all-time high currently, and I’m wondering if I should wait. If I had bought it back in 2020, it would’ve tripled by now.
I’m a beginner, so any advice welcome.

@jwray Stocks generally go up over time. Not in a straight line, but generally up over time. That means, statistically, stocks will always be at an all time high.

No one can say whether stocks will go down 20% or more this year or next. However, if you look at a 30 year chart of the S&P then you’ll notice the trend is generally up and to the right.

Perhaps the better question is, why has that been true until now? Population growth, GDP growth, productivity improvement, etc. If you research about that and ask yourself whether you think that will continue into the future, you’ll find whether or not you should invest.

Most importantly, don’t choose whether to invest or not based on what people on the internet say. Think about whether you believe the global economy (or the U.S. economy, if you’re looking at the S&P) will continue to grow in the future. Then, take action based on your own conclusions.

@jwray Yes, it would. But the problem is, you don’t know when that’s going to happen, and neither do I. Also, when a dip does happen, you don’t know when it’s at the bottom, or whether it will dip more or rebound.

Therefore, unless you have special psychic powers, it’s better to average into the market over time, generally.

@jwray You can't time the market. It's just one of those absolute truths about the universe that everybody's mind rejects ("but look, obviously it's too high/too low!") but which remains true anyway.

The market is the synthesis of all available information. You can't consistently beat it, you can only join it.