westmedsupply

Hey everyone, I’ve been investing in the US market for about 1-3 years now. Recently, I had a conversation with a friend about exclusively investing in the US market. I received a lot of feedback, with some suggesting that solely focusing on one country might not be the wisest approach. They mentioned concerns about potential setbacks, such as experiencing a ‘lost decade’ or becoming too reliant on a single market.

Their input has made me reconsider my investment strategy. Currently, I’m holding equally allocation of VOO, QQQ, and SCHD, but I’m contemplating whether I should diversify further by adding an international ETF like VT to my portfolio. I’m 27 years old and plan to invest until retirement. I started this portfolio in 2021, and I’m satisfied with its current performance.

I’d love to hear your thoughts. Is it unwise to solely invest in the US market?

@westmedsupply As @owly mentioned, can look into buying US index funds through Irish domiciled funds. 15% dividend withholding tax vs 30% if buying the same fund from US stock market directly. US doesn't allow accumulating funds (where dividends are automatically reinvested), only distributing, whilst Irish domiciled funds could.

Besides, a large part of the gains from index fund investments are most likely to come from capital appreciation instead, which is not taxable in Malaysia (unless you actively trade em, then considered as personal income).