Is it possible to reach 1 cr by 30 ? I have financial anxiety

khristine

Hello All,

I am 28 years old and I have been working as a software engineer since past 4 years. I have a very good salary and when I see online that people with similar income as mine have way more savings, it gives me financial anxiety.

I am sharing a rough look at my income progress, major expenses, and current net worth breakdown below.

I humbly request you to go through it and suggest what I am doing wrong.

I want to reach 1 crore in 2 or 3 years, is it possible? I will heavily invest in MFs, etc going forward.

CTC:
Jan 2020 to Oct 2020: 15K Per month
Nov 2020 to Sep 2021: 10 LPA ( ~ 65K inhand pm)
Sep 2021 to Dec 2021: 20 LPA (~ 1.4L pm inhand)
Jan 2022 to Dec 2022: 21.6 LPA ( ~ 1.4L pm inhand)
Jan 2023 to Dec 2023: 27 LPA (~ 1.7 L pm inhand)
Jan 2024 to Dec 2024: Yet to find out but probably +20%

Major Incurred expenses:
  1. 17 Lakh car (4 lakh given by father) (Taken 10 lakh loan)
  2. TV and Entertainment unit: 2 Lakh
  3. Phone and watch: 1.7 Lakh
  4. Family expenses: 2.3 Lakh
Major recurring expenses since july 2022
(WFH ended)
  1. Rent 15500, now 17K since diwali
  2. Maid+cook 3000 per month
  3. Electricity: 1-1.5 K per month
  4. Car EMI: 20,638 PM since April 2023
  5. Car fuel: 15K PM since April 2023, before this I used uber which costed way less
Rest, a lot of miscellaneous on food ordering, etc

Currently portfolio:
  1. Mutual Funds: 13,11,392
  2. Equity: 1,35,982
  3. Demat: 1,51,716
  4. Open future positions: 3,89,544
  5. Bank: 5,69,499
  6. PF: 6,12,891
Total current : 31,71,024

(I also have a car, do I include it in net worth?)

I also have 16 lakhs in RSUs as well, 25% vesting each year. I would vest 4 lakhs of it end of this month (pre tax)

@khristine No, car is not included in net worth calculations.

Assuming you will make 2 lac per month in hand this year, and given your expenses, you should aim to save 1 lac a month.