Is it logical to opt out of my pension?

fromtheearth

Hi, I’m an international PhD student working at a university. I have received my first month’s salary today which I realised was much lower than expected - it’s because they auto-enrolled me into the USS pension scheme. I asked about personal vs employer contributions so apparently I pay 9.8% of gross income while the university pays 21.6%.

I was ready to opt out before I heard the university contribution - sounds super high. I worked before and my employer was contributing the legal minimum.

I’m wondering if I should stay since:
  • I’m being paid peanuts (if you know the universities, you know) so losing 10% of my income really requires me to use my savings to survive in London - so would that be logical?
  • i might not stay in the uk much longer (maybe 5-10 years more) so not sure building a pension here is very logical if I’m living elsewhere. Also sounds like I can’t take my pension to my home country due to there not being an approved pension provider back home.
I have another pension with nest from my old employer though so I have some money already in the system (v. little though) - so should I just pay?

Edit: overwhelmed by the response - thanks everyone! I guess I shouldn’t opt out. I think I explained myself a bit poorly - I plan to stay in the UK for some more years but not necessarily in the university. So the USS benefits might only be for one year.

@fromtheearth You only work around 40 years for a pension so please don’t use, “it’s only 5 - 10 years”, that’s up to a quarter of many people’s earning years

Secondly, you can access you uk pension abroad, it’s legally yours

I can’t answer the affordability as you have not provided figures but it’s rare that someone should be suggested to opt out of a pension