Is Cash ISA w/5% interest a better investment than a FTSE Global All Cap S&S ISA?

sanath123

Hi all,

I'll try and keep it short.

I've been using a SIPP/S&S ISA via Vanguard for around 2 years at this point. I'm happy with it and I put in a fairly healthy amount in my S&S ISA each month now. My Dad basically has a Cash ISA with TSB where he puts in £20,000 and they give you a set amount of tax. I've found out that he just left it in there after his first term and then I don't believe he did anything with it after so what they do is put you on the lowest interest band. So he wasn't receiving 5% but closer to around 1% at best. Not good. We're Muslims, so in essence we shouldn't be dealing with interest according to our religion therefore i'm trying to get away from that and move towards an index fund or something that isn't interest based solely.

He's asked me if I know of anything that would be better. Now, I invest in the FTSE Global All Cap and it's up around 10-13% (more on my SIPP as I moved it before starting a S&S ISA) since I started investing. It's very simple to use and see how well you're doing. I was thinking of getting him into that. The returns aren't exactly sexy but they're basically better than what he was investing in before.

I've got 2 questions -

1) Can I just move his Cash ISA from TSB to Vanguard as a S&S ISA and not be subject to any tax? 2) What do you guys think of my suggestion of moving him to a Vanguard FTSE Global All Cap Accumulation S&S ISA?

Thank you. We have until 13 October 2023 which is when his current Cash ISA matures (or expires) so i'm wanting to begin the process within the next 7 days.

@sanath123 Are underpants better than socks? They're both bunched together as similar products, but serve different purposes.

Beware of offering family members financial advice, if it doesn't work out, you get the blame, even when it's their responsibility to make their own financial decisions.