thenoble

Hi r/MalaysianPF, I’m a uni student who is wanting to put my savings into Irish domicile ETF’s for growth since the money is just sitting in my savings account.

I would personally be using IBKR and was wondering if it is worth it to just invest small amounts (ie rm1k on quarterly basis) as I am aware of the fees and I am still a student so I do not have that much money. I would be investing my scholarship allowances for those wondering.I would be holding for at least 5 years down the road.

Thanks in advance!

@thenoble It is more convenient for you to invest via Stashaway Flexible Portfolio if your total portfolio size isn't big. Just make a 1-fund portfolio and DCA into it. Once you've accumulated a big enough portfolio that makes the 0.8% p.a. that Stashaway leeches away from you look like an eyesore, withdraw and rebuy on IBKR.

@corey3518
it regularly loses money

Everything that touches equities lost money in 2022.

isnt stashaway a trading bot

The Flexible Portfolio that I mentioned is a self-directed portfolio, where you dictate the portfolio construction and allocation, SA just buys and holds it for you with no additional "intelligent" input or interference (they claim to only rebalance once the asset allocations deviate by 30%). It's about as close as it gets to buying ETF by yourself without the trouble of forex, remittance, order placement, etc (all bundled in the fee SA takes monthly).

@georgiew And also, there is no management fee until June 2023 for fresh deposits. Essentially fractional shares. But for now, only VT is available. No VWRA or any Irish domiciled ETF.

@carmen2569 For a few extra steps, you too can do the 1-fund portfolio with VWRA. Just head to Syfe Singapore and make sure you have a Singapore bank account (apparently you can deposit to Syfe directly using Wise too).

SA is allergic to accumulating funds for some reason, despite their Blackrock portfolios featuring them extensively.