odapunkt

As a Hungarian tax resident, I received the following email from IB. Any of you in the same situation?

As far as I understand, any accumulating ETF that does not issue interests/dividends is safe from this bylaw, right? I invest in VWCE and XEON.

Dear Client,As you may be aware, the Hungarian Government passed a new bylaw, Government Decree 205/2023 (V.31) on 31 May, 2023, that requires financial services providers to withhold a Social Contribution Tax of 13% on certain capital gains and interest payments and to remit these amounts directly to the government.The tax only applies to positions opened by Hungarian tax payers after 1 July 2023 in interest related instruments (e.g. bonds, certain mutual funds and ETFs, etc).Due to the short duration between the announcement of the bylaw and its effective date, IBKR is unable to deploy the required tax withholding properly across its full global product set. To ensure correct adherence to the regulation, we must temporarily limit the ability to open positions in affected products. Closing transactions in pre-existing positions will not be impacted.

@odapunkt
any accumulating ETF that does not issue interests/dividends is safe from this bylaw, right? I invest in VWCE and XEON

I'm not a Hungarian tax resident but I think you are reading it right since accumulating ETFs are not creating taxable events on their own, only if you sell.

@odapunkt Unfortunately, probably not even the government knows it yet. (And even if they do they could change it and create a new law any day at 23:56 in effect from next day.)

If you speak Hungarian there was some discussion about it on the Kiszámoló blog and subreddit.

AFAIK (accumulating) ETF should be safe, but I have never heard any official confirmation of this.