Impact of credit card churning (on credit score) if I’m getting a mortgage soon?

bobbydoes

I keep receiving credit card cash back offers (e.g. spend $x in y days and get $z credited back) and have already churned from one CC to another (CBA) 2 months ago to take advantage of their offer.

Now I’ve received another one from ING that offers $200 cash back however I’m not sure of the impact of such frequent churn on my credit score if I want to get my first (PPOR) mortgage in the next ~6 months.

Curious for everyone’s thoughts as I’m not too familiar with credit scores!

@bobbydoes In my experience, and I churn 6 to 10 cards yearly, it had no impact at all on both my credit score or my home loan application and approval there after. But this is just my experience of course.

@johnbiggs I’ve been doing this for 7 years now. Had my first credit card rejection last month since 5 years with Suncorp. Eventually you will get rejected but the banks do not seem to care about enquiries as long as your credit score is good.

@nealdx I agree. We churned for 10+ years with no issue. There's so few people churning that it doesn't seem to affect the credit cards banks are offering. The banks hope we forget to open a new credit card, then BAM! Our introductory interest ends and we'll be on 30% interest.

It only affects our credit score if we get rejected (which we were careful about). It's great that you're doing the same. Were you able to work out why you got rejected? i.e. if the offer only applies to new customers, credit limit is too high, etc. to make sure you don't cop another hit.

@nealdx Banks don’t just have models to detect if you’ll not repay the loan. They have models to detect churning too. I’m surprised you’re not getting rejected more.

@johnbiggs Everyone talks about this but I have never heard of these models to detect churning, or at least from my experience. I know a lot of others who churn and also don’t have any issues.