[Illinois] Unemployment from A-Z help. I'm new to this and very lost!

johnathan92

Hi, I recently got laid off last Monday 5/18 - I am still on the company payroll through June 17th (meaning I'm getting regular biweekly paychecks through this time), which I believe is when I'm going to be eligible to receive unemployment benefits. I have a few questions -
  1. Is it possible to apply for unemployment from now, for June 17th? That way my application has a spot in line amongst the thousands of apps they are receiving? Or do I have to wait until June 17th to file? Is there a way to mention this in the app?
  2. How long before I begin to actually receive the $$?
  3. In terms of the additional $600/week that we're eligible for due to COVID, am I required to apply for that separately, or does it get processed automatically?
  4. I want to use this unemployment money to travel abroad (while actively applying for jobs!). Has anyone tried using a VPN to do the bi-weekly check in, or have a friend do it for them?
  5. How much 'job search' is enough job search? If I apply for 1-2 jobs/week, is that enough proof to Illinois that I'm 'actively searching for work'?
any and all guidance would be appreciated.

@johnathan92
  1. No you have to wait until you're unemployed.
  2. It may take months. I'm not in your state but you should look around for people in your state. Maybe by the time you apple they will be handling it better.
  3. The 600 comes automatically
  4. That's illegal. Don't do that.
  5. You don't have to look for jobs right now

@resjudicata thank you for answering all the questions! As for number 4, do I have the option of telling them im leaving the country, and just getting unemployment before I leave and after I come back?