IBKR settled up and savings transferred, what's next?

dwightw

Hey everyone,

I've been closely following this subreddit lately as I've decided to invest some of my savings from my Italian bank account. I'm looking into a long-term investment strategy, possibly spanning 5 to 10 years. I've noticed that many people here recommend SPY or VT, but I'm quite new to ETFs and would appreciate your advice:

1) Besides SPY or VT, are there other ETFs I should consider, or perhaps diversify with a small percentage of crypto or another asset?

2) I currently reside in Zurich with a B permit. Should I start filing taxes next year due to this?

3) I've been investing through CSX (around 1K/month) using their "most risky" CSX invest plan, but I haven't seen significant gains (1.73% in the last year). Would you recommend withdrawing and moving the funds to IBKR as well?

4) Is it worthwhile to open a 3rd pillar account too? I've never quite grasped if it's advantageous as an expat, especially since I hope to return to Italy someday. If yes do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your insights.

@dwightw Stocks are recommended for 10+ years so make sure your horizon is long enough.

1) Just VT (only add SPY if you really want even more US exposure)

2) Not sure, wait for another reply.

3) Yes, VT made about 11% last year in CHF (22% in USD).

4) I'm not sure what the "standard" recommendation is, but as 3a with Finpension or VIAC is very closely to the performance of VT I don't see a reason why you shouldn't invest the max into a 3a once you fill taxes. You can withdraw the money once you go back to Italy or just keep it shielded from taxes and withdraw it close to retirement.

@virtualhope can I ask a noob question? why did VT in USD did twice the return? because of relative currency value change? if so, are you talking in relation to CHF? meaning that if I would have bought VT traded in USD with CHF, my return would have been 22%?