I have been spending 60% of my wage on nothing for 8 years

jeplet

Hey 26m (chef) I have recently (2 months) quit smoking cigarettes and weed both cold turkey, started to knuckle down on actually saving and recently got a new job which net me a $5 pay rise

However

I can’t help but hate myself for realising that over the past 8 years (smoking 20p cigarettes a day and smoking roughy a 1/4 oz of cannabis in a week) I have spent roughly around $120,870 give or take over that time period. All while not saving any money and practically living week to week.

3 months ago I was working in a place that paid very low ($25 ph for an experienced chef de partie) and have always been in low paying jobs as I understood it was “just part of hospo” but about the time I chose to quit I had started to realise that my colleagues even some earning less than me were somehow managing to buy very nice things/eat well AND save money. This most definitely made me start to wonder why I struggle so much and although deep down I knew ( it was my multiple expensive habits) I chose to ignore it for so long until I’d finally had enough.

Put myself through a gruelling 2 months of quitting both habits cold turkey (and they say weed isn’t addictive lol) and now I cannot believe the money I have extra every week. Has anyone else experienced this? I feel like I’ve just been on autopilot my whole life and have no truly nice things or Tavel experiences/memories to show for it.

My reason for writing this is (although I am debt free) I feel like I have lost so much valuable time and possibilities e.g. a house deposit and am looking for any advice on how to move forward.
Cheers x

@lamdiengiat2 Life is a long term game, keep moving forward and sometime along the way you'll realise how far you've come.

What you paid for wasn't just smokes and weed, you also paid for a valuable lesson to now take forward through life

You got this op!