makaylaglynn

So, I have 300k USD sitting on my German PayPal. It's money I have earned over the years as a freelancer. Why are the money still there you would ask? Well, because:
  1. The money/financing matters stress me out so I preferred to procrastinate and thus did nothing with those money.
  2. I was hoping to find a good time when the conversion rate USD-to-EUR was favorable and transfer the PayPal dollars to my German EUR bank account. (Stupid beginner strategy?)
Some info about me:
  • I am a freelancer in Germany getting paid with dollars to my PayPal
  • Never made contributions to any public or pension funds (I am 35).
  • Not owning any real-estate.
  • I am non-EU citizen staying with a German residence permit.
  • I am not 100% sure I will stay in Germany in the future
Please note that I completely understand I have been loosing money due to inflation and missed investment opportunities. So, what happened, happened. Also, I wanted to say that I am so happy I found this group. I have been eyeing r/personalfinance but their [American] vocabulary (e.g., 401, credit score, etc.) sounded completely alien to me.

So, what do I do?

Edit 1: I am looking at options that are easy to implement, safe, and stress-free tax-wise. I am not interested in maximizing profits with riskier methods.

Edit 2: I don't understand why many in the comments assume no tax has been paid on that money. It's PayPal money. That doesn't make it untaxable. Also, I am not asking how do I transfer my money from PayPal to my bank account. I have done that many times to pay the tax. I am asking about investing options.