I am in my 20s, and my father is asking me to pay 150,000 yen per month for rent.

mpax38

Hello Reddit,

I don’t usually post here but I am feeling a little desperate for some advice or just to hear what options I have.

I am currently 27 years old, Japanese citizen, grew up in the states so I know English.
I live with my dad (80 y/o) and mom (60 y/o) in a decent house. They are technically divorced but we still live together. The rent is 150,000 yen a month, and I pay for the whole thing, excluding utility fees. I only make about 250,000 yen a month, so I never get to save up money. I’ve been paying for a few years now and I have started to feel burdened.

The biggest problem is that my dad has too much pride to take 生活保護 (welfare? basically money from the government), meaning that I am trapped in this situation unless I abandon my dad. My mom is okay with anything, but she does not earn much and is trying to make a savings. My dad is too old to rent the house under his own name too.

What options do I have?
And to anyone who takes their time to read this, thank you!

Edit: More things worth mentioning:
  • My dad is still working and insists that he can eventually pay for the bills. It’s not a salary based job, it’s a one time payment all or nothing kind of thing. My mom and I don’t believe that since he was unable to for the past few years. Plus, he’s 80!
  • If I move out, my dad insists on living in the house alone and paying for it somehow. This is a huge problem since the house is under my name, and its very difficult to change it to my dad’s (they don’t let very old people have the responsibility to pay rent). Even if we were somehow able to change it to his name, I would dread leaving him there and being kicked out.