How to get out of cheap mindset?

jclarke

Hi,

So I have a few businesses and have income of over 1 crore before taxes this year.

I still look for a bus to the airport, saving maybe 300-500rs one way.

How do I teach myself to spend? I can spend on a cab, but I have always felt uncomfortable taking a cab when alone.

I can improve my mindset but don’t understand what should I tell myself?

I don’t really need anything with the money, and have decent saving investments and asset.

I have been working for 11 years and have possibly saved and invested 95% of my income. Never taught myself to spend.

Besides my investment and business assets, Most expensive expensive purchase would be total travel cost for 5 years to maybe 15 lakhs, alone.
My total wardrobe might be a lakh.

I don’t have to save 500 each day; I’m sure if I’ll get 0.5% extra on my investment, it will cover this, and I don’t care much about getting that 0.5% if it causes too much stress.

@jclarke This is very hard to teach yourself.

My financial situation is in the same ballpark, and i finally have been able to break out of the scarcity mindset that i grew up with. My partner was a great help in this: she grew up much richer than i did, and there is a strong sense of prioritising self and comfort that i head to learn. For example, a red eye flight to a vacation might cost lesser, but you'll end up losing a day of your vacation, and that's not a good start at all. Now i don't have qualms about paying extra to increase my comfort. Still not in the head space to buy biz class tickets, but some day

@rachael3 Valid points. I can correlate your point on business class but I recently took one (with points and some cash) and boy was it a difference. I was going to land at 3 AM and had to be awake all day with kids to take care and the comfort of business class (and sleep) actually gave me the energy for all day. This aligns with your point of red eye flight. I hope you try it soon to see for yourself.