jericha

Hello, anyone has experience filling in Borang B? I'm a freelancer how i fill in the balance sheet part? I keep track of my income and expenses ij excel but didnt do proper account, and i use my personal bank account so i dont know how much cash belongs to business too.

Should i leave this blank?

@jericha Pay a company secretary or a tax agent to get your account sorted. You really need to show the basics of your business, leaving it blank is asking for trouble.

Using personal bank account for business purposes is bad, but it's not the end of the world.

@jericha Hey, fellow biz owner.

There are a few ways you can do this.
  • pen and paper. Track all your receivables and payables using excel and key that in. Takes a bit of work.
  • get a cloud accounting software and start issuing your invoices and record expenses there. You get your p&l and balance sheet done.
Please go register your SSM and have a bank account setup. Mbb or CIMB is good. Use your personal account a few more times and they’re gonna call you telling it’s not for business purposes - same legal entity be damned. Ask me how I know.

Pm me if you need help. My business is getting businesses started on their accounting.

@jericha Ya it’s relatively easy.

Invoices are usually revenue, and bills (use movie wording to remmeber, those guys always say “I’m gonna pay my bills” when they hit a windfall) is your expense side.

So you have the part about it going into different accounts (go accountingcoach.com to understand a bit more about accounting, disclaimer they’re not from this region so their terminology differs from ours).

What I mean when I say into different accounts: eg: TNB bill will be classified as Electricity or Utilities, water will be water or utilities. You have some freedom to play around with how the report comes out and what kind of numbers are important for you.