How much should I pay my spouse if I (sole trader) employ her?

warlord4747

I am a sole trader in Scotland, and for reasons I won't bore you with, I have to remain a sole trader (I cannot incorporate/become a partnership etc).

For tax year 2022-2023, my pre-tax profit was £169k.

I'd like to employ my spouse, for maximum tax efficiency. Is there any benefit to paying her (e.g.) £50,000 p/a, rather than just the personal allowance?

Thanks.

@warlord4747 Not sure why others are saying a sole trader cannot have employees. They can. The only real caveat is that *you* cannot be employed, whereas if you had a Ltd Co then that entity can employ its directors

You will need to manage payroll and make sure anything employment related is legal and above board. High street accountancy practices can manage that for you for not much extra, and given your turnover, I assume you are already taking accountancy advice.

Why can you not incorporate? On the face of it that is the best solution here...

https://www.theaccountancy.co.uk/soletrader/can-you-employ-people-as-a-sole-trader-13871.html

@willdes1 If OP was a pilot working on a self employed contract for an airline, would they be able to incorporate? I believe this might be one of the situations where you’d only be allowed to be a sole trader. The numbers also correlate.

@warlord4747 It all depends on what you are paying her to do.

Is she the staff chef? Does she run the books?

As long as it's solely for work you can pay whatever you want and hmrc will just nod. Just be wary that if they want more info you have to back your case. So do homework and compare market rate and her duties.

But my advice is you need to do your homework and do the maths yourself as there isn't enough info you have given.

For example:

Does she have her own job?
Age?
Pension?

Without knowing the above we can't tell you what is most tax efficient. Get an accountant.