how much do insurance agents get paid?

minnie

i have a friend from my diploma days in college and she apparently bought a Mercedes C class with the money she earns from her insurance sales job, so it got me wondering how much they earn?

For more context she just graduated 2 years ago right after her diploma and started working in this job about a year ago (according to her IG posts, timeline might fluctuate). She also works in a popular insurance called N*

@minnie most agencies do this:

for every rm1000/year you pay to insurance company per year, they get rm250-300 for first 2 years. then rm200 for 3-4th year and rm150 for 5th year.

so if you are paying rm3000 per year, the agent takes about rm1000 for the first year. thats why they always push for life / investment plan.

if your friend lucky, find many big customer, then happy lo

@dongchau123 Ahh I see, thanks this clarifies a lot. From what I know or what she’s posted on IG she normally does more funeral services like pre booking caskets and etc. so would that earn her more?

Genuinely so shocked how someone this young can afford a C-class out of nowhere

@minnie that prebooking thing is with another company right? not insurance. should be company like Nirwxxx. they sell land for the burial too right? commission quite high i heard.

@minnie Dude that is Will Agent, probably Rockwill or Nirwana. Cant tell you about this as never experience before but heard it quite high commission.

@minnie My IG gets at least 2 ads per scrolling of youngsters achieving their sales comm in property, insurance etc and getting their first Mercs or whatever, no longer shocking.

One of my college classmate also joined Nirvvvv, a year later last I’ve heard he can make about 11k monthly.

Another classmate who joined A 1 A is now able to travel every month, so yeah