How do you mentally handle investing (e.g. analysis paralysis, stress, etc.)?

bereanmom

I’m currently 23 and realized I should have started investing in my ROTH IRA sooner than later. I just maxed it out. I plan on really just getting a handful of etfs just to keep it simple (VOO or VTI mainly, a bit in VTUS, and maybe a bit in something more volatile just because I have time on my side). That being said, I always get overwhelmed whenever I’m about to actually buy into those etfs, and then I don’t end up buying it because of it. How do you not get so overwhelmed?

My main thing is basically timing. I’ve heard people say that you should just invest because time in the market always beats timing the market. I see how that makes sense and I do intend to not do the whole trading and timing once I’m in. The thing is that I’m not technically “in” yet because I have nothing invested yet. I simply just funded my account.

I know I should probably just start investing, but I’m always somehow concerned about timing my entrance because “what if I enter at too high of a price and I don’t make as much in the long term because I couldn’t wait X amount of time when prices became lower.” Basically, it’s “what if prices fall in a couple of months so I can then buy more shares to hold long term.” It doesn’t help that some people say that the world will fall apart within the next 5 minutes while others say that this is the start to a boom (I’m exaggerating a bit here).

@bereanmom You're 23. You'll see at least two to three gut-wrenching declines to your portfolio before you'll retire. Just accept that as fact and DCA whenever you have the cash. Just remember "DON'T PANIC," and you'll be alright

@bereanmom I was about 30 when I figured out what a Roth IRA was and started investing in one.

When you have the money, invest into it preferably with index funds. I do VTSAX.

If I have the money I max January 1 of each year.

Also as mentioned, set up employer sponsored account