House ownership

gilynn

I would love for someone to fact check this as I am not an expert

Suppose you have a 100K house that you’d like to buy, but you have only 20K. So you ask an investor to give you 80K in order to buy the house.

Then out of your pocket you have two payments to make:
1. Slowly pay off 80K on a 1-2-1 amount, so if you agree to pay it off in 80 years, you pay 1K a month only (nothing extra, so there’s no riba)
2. You would like to also live in the house over the time you pay off the 80 K over the 80 years, so you have to pay a rent. Given you own 20% of the house, whatever the market rent is for the house, you pay 80%. And it falls as your ownership increases, so in year 60, you only pay 20% worth of the market rent.

Would this be deemed to be halal? If so, why don’t these models exist?

@gilynn This model does exist. It is a form of “diminishing musharikah,” where one partner slowly buys out the other over a pre-arranged schedule. In paying rent you are basically a partner in the investment as well as a customer.

Many banks and companies around the world use this model. Including one of the main Islamic financing companies in the US.

@c2c oh sweet. but how does Guidance Residence profit from this transaction?

And how do they calculate the rent of the home? is it comparable to other homes in the area or is it different implying a riba substitute?

@gilynn I gotta say if you just came up with this idea on your own that’s really quite clever of you!

As to Guidance: Their profit comes essentially from the rent or profit rate which is paid by you. As you’re getting at, the rental “rate” isn’t actually based on market rents but a rate that they offer that conveniently happens to be about the market rate of mortgage interest.