Here's my personal P&L for FY2023 - Single 38M, renting. AMA

@tiongbahrudental $3594 on darts

$10,828 on "gifts and donations"

Unless there's a Gym membership tucked into Health, Grooming & Care I feel like the $155 on sports and hobbies is a check engine light for ya!

@kmaynard I am a Chartered Accountant, working in corporate governance consulting.

I have thought about quitting smoking, but have never gone past the thinking stage. But yes, you just made me think about it again. Maybe I'll do it this year.

@tiongbahrudental Read The Easy Way to Quit Smoking. It encourages you to keep smoking whilst reading the book and I promise you’ll give it up once you’re finished. And go cold turkey, it’s really the only way.

Ps vaping is just as addictive. Don’t fall into that trap.

@tiongbahrudental Seriously dude, do yourself a favour even just from a financial point of view.

I turned from 18 years of smoking to vapes in 2021 and since that time I have not spent $41,736 on smokes (based on what my smokes used to cost when I quit) and spent about $2000 total on my vape gear. I no longer stink and even though I had always been fairly fit (despite the smoking) I am feeling far better today and have lost the smokers cough.

I'm about 12 months away from stopping vaping (reduction of nicotine in juice over time).

@rheenah They’re a far better option than smoking cigarettes. Under medical supervision they’re not meant to be a long term solution, they’re a quitting agent. You should know better than to dissuade conversations with professionals and/or harm minimisation tools. “Not any better” is a complete lie.

@yorkshiretea Thank you! It actually doesn't take much of my time at all.

I use Xero connected to all my bank accounts. Each transaction comes through a feed and it’s pretty easy to categorise them from there. I only bother to save receipts for deductible items. It takes me a couple of minutes per day to keep everything reconciled.