Help! Waiver of Depreciation

henriettag

For context 2020 Kia Sedona was in an accident that the insurer is claiming as total loss.

We purchased a waiver of depreciation back when the car was put on our policy.

The issue:
1. Car was purchased used so therefore never qualified for the waiver of depreciation.

1. Insurer is refusing the waiver of depreciation since the vehicle was purchased use. Insurer confirms that it was agent error and sold me an insurance policy I was never entitled to use.

The problem:
I’m expecting that I would have received back the full cost of the vehicle since no one caught on that I should have never have this policy. I’ve been paying for it for 4 years. Should the car never gotten into an accident, I would have continued to pay this. How do I escalate this so that the insurer reimburses me for what I paid for? I feel like there needs to be proper rules to protect consumers from issues like this.

TIA

@henriettag What are you asking for? Reimbursement for the cost of the waiver over 4 years or full reimbursement for the vehicle? A few things. The policy docs would have explained the terms of the waiver and they'll say you should have read that and known it wasn't valid and requested it's removal far before 4 years. But maybe you can get the brokerage itself to reimburse you for the cost of the waiver. But they'll never give you full reimbursement costs for the totaled vehicle. If it doesn't qualify that's the end of it. You'll get the blue book value. Even with the waiver it says you must qualify for it. If you don't you just don't.

@henriettag This is an error on your broker and it should get escalated with them not the insurer. You’ll likely just get reimbursed for the cost of the depreciation endorsement you paid for over the past 4yrs, but nothing else. I suggest you find a better broker, who understands what they are selling you.