Halal Funds that are not advertised as Halal

limegreen

Salam everyone,

I am pretty new to Islamic investments and I wanted to know what the best options for index funds [Available in US] that are halal but not advertised as such. I've looked through the halal options such as SPUS, UMMA, AMAGX and etc. I am currently invested in few of them but I'm getting tired of the expense ratio, the relatively okay performances, and asset allocations. I am not looking for something actively managed as it can get pricey b/c I am still a student so my range is anywhere below 1K. I have heard from another thread that Vanguard Social Index Fund is a great alternative but it's not within my budget. Any knowledge helps. Thanks.

@limegreen Waaleikum assalam!

While it's true that shariah-compliant ETFs and funds are expensive, you are better off using those products from shariah perspective. They will take care of all the adjustments when certain companies become no longer shariah-compliant.

VFTAX, the Social Index, is full of non-compliant companies. For example, you can see many bank stocks like JPM, Citi, and Morgan Stanley in that fund.

If you are young and just getting started, go with SPUS. You can think about your diversification and asset allocation problems when you have sufficient net worth, inshaAllah.

@cautiouslittlehope I understand but I am just not that happy with how even the shariah-compliant funds manage their assets. For example most of them don’t perform that well relative to their peers and then they also require higher expense ratio. I’m better of creating my own portfolio it feels like :/

@limegreen I haven't re-checked recently but, from memory, Amana Growth fund has had pretty good results over the years, a long established track-record as well as huge AUM.

This should be taken into consideration with regards to risk and liquidity in the event of a downturn and how resilient those newer shariah-compliant funds may be in comparison.