nluvwyeshua

25M recently graduated doctor here. Expecting my posting soon and currently preparing for PG entrances meanwhile. I have absolutely zero idea about personal financing, investing etc etc. Someone please guide me from A to Z as to what i have to do, what resources to learn from etc. I feel that whatever useless purchases i had to do (mobile/bike/headphone/etc) i have done in my internship, so future BS purchases are going to be minimal. Please don't judge and help me out.

@nluvwyeshua I would also recommend reading "LETS TALK MONEY" by Monika Halan. Its a simple book by an Indian author regarding basic personal finance. It covers everything one needs to know to start their personal finance journey

@nluvwyeshua Hi Doc.

I am new to this field myself but have a family who are financially sound and disciplined. I am earning and investing since about 2 years now. I will try to list the main points here....
  • If you can, make a budget and track your expenses.. So you know where your money is going evry month. If you think you are overspending... Just doing this will help you a little with that. Just noting down your expenses will subconsiously help you to trim the unncessary ones.. Speaking for personal experience.
  • Make an emergency fund.. Atleast 6-8 months of your monthly expense and keep it in a FD (keep it simple).
  • Take a term insurance (upto 60 years) and a health insurance (i dont need to tell you what healthcare costs nowadays and how it destroys families financially)...read a lot before buying them.... Insurance is made to make profits... Make sure you dont buy the wrong one.