seeker112

Hey guys, I am a Year 2 uni student in mainland Penang studying far away from my home state. My family only has one car so i cant drive it to my uni. I work part time on weekends as I have to support myself and I get no allowance from my family (B40 background so not well off). Not having a car is really inconvenient for me as this means I would have to rely on public bus (their bus routes has so many stops so it is very slow - for context, a mere 10km distance from place A to B would take me around 40 mins to 1 hour average using bus and dont even mention the bus schedule 40 - 60 mins per bus). I am also not a huge fan of ehailing services like Grab/AirAsia/Indrive etc as i feel like im paying alot just to go to a certain place and then have to pay for trip back also (roughly RM10 one way?)

I have been thinking of getting a car so that
  • Have more opportunities for work (instead of just working promoter jobs which is typical part time for students, I can apply for roving jobs which pays higher usually ... plus my uni has something called student cab where students can offer to drive other students to locations for a fee - basically Grab but without getting sucked of commision)
  • Able to drive to travel around and explore places. Having no car really restricts such activities.
Been thinking of getting the new Axia E (RM22000) and from what i know, after booking the car still takes around 6-12 months for it to arrive due to long waiting line. I will be going for my internship around this time next year so would also need a car to get to work (dont feel like its good to still rely on public transport solely when i get internship or a full time job in future)

Have also thought of getting a secondhand car but my family disagree strongly because they said repair cost for secondhand cars are not worth it, if unlucky the car may have serious issues. Been looking at Saga (around RM8-10k) or Viva (6k-8k).