Financial Advice / Planning -- Lucky but ignorant

miekka

Hey, just joined and looking for some advice. I feel pretty ignorant sometimes when it comes to finances. I landed a pretty nice job that has me living pretty comfortably and I've started to feel like I'm getting a little too comfortable and just am searching for some advice/guidance so that I don't screw it up long-term.

For context im a wfh software developer. I live in an apartment with my S/O and a dog. She is in a doctorate program working a Graduate Assistantship, making enough to cover utilities and her expenses (car/gas/lunch/nails/etc.).

Looking for any advice on what I could/should/shouldn't be doing.

Income:

Paycheck: $2190.33 bi-weekly / $4745.71 monthly

note: 6% 401k contribution w/ 15% uncapped employer match

my contribution: $191.54

employer match: $28.73

Expenses:
  • Rent: $1093
  • Utilities: (S/O covers)
  • Internet $104.99
  • Car: $235.02
  • Car Ins: $79.85
  • Gas: $120
  • Groceries: $300
  • Food (lunch / coffee / etc)[sup]1[/sup]: $300
  • Going out[sup]2[/sup]: $500
  • Fun: $160
  • Subscriptions: $138.04
    • openAI (4work): $20
    • github co-pilot (4work): $10
    • planet fitness: $23.06
    • Netflix: $9.99
    • fuboTV (non-negotiable for football season): $74.99
  • Student Loan[sup]3[/sup]: $320
  • Student Loan(PLUS)[sup]3[/sup]: $320
  • Savings: $500
TOTAL: $4170.90

Gives me a $574.81 buffer for whatever im lying to myself about w/ this budget. This will just add to / sit in my savings ideally...

[sup]1 FOOD[/sup] I work from home, getting out of the house for lunch is really the only time i get out of the house. Working on cutting this back, but feels worth it sometimes.

[sup]2 GOING OUT[/sup] S/O is often busy until late and I am EASILY convinced (by my own self) to eat out. Currently working on cutting this back but I wasnt going to BS the number