[FI] 25 y/o Grad Student, Almost no Savings, Investment Advice?

lovenature

I know this is a rather cliché question, but I'm a 25 year old graduate student and I'm a few months away from finishing my Masters here in Finland. If all goes well, I'll be offered a PhD position here, on completion. I'm only on a part-time contract and thus make close to nothing every month - barely enough to cover rent, subsidized food and transport and other expenses. I have a student loan too and I have to start paying it back in 2017. Housing prices here skyrocketing and if I see myself buying a home here I need to start saving as much as I can as soon as I can.

1. Are ASP loan/savings programs worth it? Banks like Nordea and Danske offer these and although the rate of interest is trivial (as compared to mutual funds), it does come with benefits in that it allows you to borrow a larger fraction of the price of the home you intend to buy.

2. If (1.) isn't worthwhile, are mutual funds worth it? Are mutual funds from banks (Nordea and Danske) in any way better than those by (say) Seligson etc?

3. Are there any other worthwhile options besides (1.) and (2.).

4. Any other advice related to investing or savings would be much appreciated!

Kiitos!

@lovenature Honestly before you start looking at investing I think it is more important to build up a solid emergency fund. I know that you want to start thinking about the long term, but you also have to consider how you would be affected by a sudden expense (such as your laptop breaking). A lot of investment options will require a longer commitment in order to see the kind of returns that you would hope for, and if you don't have the emergency funds built up to protect you it could result in you losing money as you have to encash an investment too early.