danielgarcia

Good evening, I'm fairly new at investing and trying out different things and I have 2 questions

1) after doing some research, I'm interested in the s&p 500. But how many shares of it is wise to get. An ETF is already diverse so would it be wise to buy maybe 6 shares if I have R500 to spare? Or should I have more and have a lump sum?

2) I noticed that Mr price and mtn do fairly well, is it wise to purchase a few shares(less than 5) from either one of them? And then buy 1 or 2 every month.

Ps, I'm a college student and can only invest under R500 every month.

Thank you for your help in advance

@danielgarcia I'd suggest reading up on the boglehead approach and maybe checking in on our friends at r/bogleheads .

My opinion is that if you don't know stocks stay with etfs. Look at the composition of each etf so that you don't over invest in one sector. And don't be scared if you buy a peak. The boglehead approach will explain why.

@ladydee68 Ooh, I didn't know I am a Boglehead! I like it.

So they say invest in passive diversified low cost tax efficient things and forget. Based on that I've got my long term money all in a tax free account with low cost with EE invested in a bit of bonds, property, 4IR and a bit more emerging market and global ETFs.

@danielgarcia Alternate with other etfs too so that you can diversify . S&P500 with JSE top 40 and maybe something like industrials. I had financial index etf too, but it did nothing over majy years.

Great long term growth. I have s&P and top40 and keep investing every year.

I think these form part of a tax free account too