wmreschke

Good afternoon everyone. I'm still very new to investing and was hoping that someone could assist me with the following questions:
  1. Why would someone invest dollars into an ETF (e.g. Vanguard S&P500) if there are South African/ZAR equivalents that tracks the same index, thus yielding more or less the same returns?
  2. Why does the price of the US and SA S&P 500 ETF's differ (maybe answering the previous question?). E.g. Satrix S&P500= R6668 and Vanguard S&P 500=$407/R6001 (407x14.75)
  3. Why does the above price differ from the S&P 500 index price, 4432 (Dollars?)
  4. Can the S&P 500 ETF's be made up of different companies? What is the difference between Vanguard S&P 500 (VOO) and Vanguard S&P500 Value (VOOV). Why does the price differ?

@wmreschke 1) Tax...
If you invest in dollars instead of zar and lets say 10 years from now you sell out, you don't pay CGT on the currency fluctuations (assuming the dollar value increased over rand). If you invest via local (Zar) offshore funds, currency fluctuations are added to to the fund performance itself.

So lets say Zar depreciated 3% and the fund grew by 9%. In dollar terms the fund only grew by 6% - but you'll pay tax in the full growth including currency fluctuations.

Have a look at local offshore based fund like MSCI World fact sheet. You'll see performance is quoted as TR (Total return in currency), in Zar and then USD. Can Use Sygnia MSCI World as example.

2 - 4) This is a bit deep to explain. It depends on the manager and how the accumulated and when as well as where. Funds for example S&P1200 ESG doesn't mean it contains 1200 companies. ESG as an example means the companies in 1200 index that satisfy ESG requirements. They potential can only hold 700-800 constitutes instead of the normal 1200 index. Same with Value/Growth/Tech etc. Its all just keywords to try and explain the goal if the fund. So 500 Value for example will focus on the companies in the 500 index that satisfy value investing.