Does anyone know the best way to get affordable fish?

mazin

I would love to get more fish into my diet, but it's so expensive!

I don't live near the ocean and I'm not that good at fishing. I potentially could fillet whole fish, but would definitely be a new skill to learn! I can do it but takes ages and there's a bit of waste. Is buying a whole fish even worth it by the time you remove everything?

I buy canned tuna and frozen crumbed Hoki fillets (they seem to be the cheapest). The issue with the frozen fillets is that they are crumbled and only 50-55% fish. They also have quite a lot of fat, and I would prefer plain fish as it's healthier.

I really don't like canned salmon :(

Does anyone know any hacks to get fish fillets that don't cost the earth or have very little crumbling? At pak n save, the cheapest I'm seeing fresh fish fillets for is around $27/kg.
Are there times/days of the week where it often goes on sale? (I'm in Palmerston North).

As extra points, what's the cheapest way to have salmon? Frozen is fine, canned is not. I know it won't ever be "cheap", but I would buy a serve once every few weeks if i could get it for even just

@mazin Canned mackerel mate.

Pacific crown mackerel costs $2.5 not on special, or $2 on special.

A single can contains a whopping 106g protein for a total of only 600cal for the whole can. That’s leaner than most protein shakes mixed with water and it’s real food.

@mazin It’s literally the cheapest and yet leanest source of protein I’m aware of. It’s my go to to slam a whole can of that for lunch. It’s the cheat code to mass protein at low cal at low cost.

@gangabarre111 Slice or dice an onion, cook in oil then add the canned fish. Sprinkle a teaspoon of masala, 1/2 teaspoon of tumeric, 1/2 teaspoon ginger and garlic, salt to taste. Serve over rice. Affordable meal and what a lot of fiji indians grew up on 😊