Do you like math? CC payoff help

tinyrev

Hello! I hope I can post this question here, apologies if I have erred!

Here is my situation. First let me say I have a lot of embarrassment about my credit card situation but I’m working on it and have been meticulously budgeting to get everything under control. I have issues with math but even worse, no one ever really has taught me to manage my finances and I’m self taught, though recently I hired a coach who is really helping me.

I have two credit cards and I am wondering how to optimize paying them off. Should I throw more at the high interest one to pay that off and then target my 0 interest card? The problem w the 0 interest card is I’m on a 21 month deadline to pay it off.

Current budget for credit card payoff: $700/ mo
(some months I’ll have more but this is the minimum I’m allocating)

Card 1:
0% APR for 21 months
Time to payoff: 21 months
Balance: $7900
Min: not sure but probably around 200, it’s a new card

Card 2:
15.15% APR
Time to payoff: ideally I would like to pay off within 24-36 months
Balance: $9400
Min: currently 200/mo

Current math:
Card 1: I’ll pay off on time in 21 months at payment of $377/ mo

Card 2: I’ll payoff in 36 months at monthly payment of 292/ mo

What do you think of this? Is there a world where I should pay more on card 2 to save on interest and snowball that into card 1?

Thank you so much.

@tinyrev What’s your budget to pay off debt? Have you cut out everything you can and extra spending.

What you have to spend monthly may change my answer.

@tinyrev Sorry for missing that. I’m a avalanche debt payoff person. But you wouldn’t pay off card 2 and take care of card 1 before the 0% period ends so I think you’re on track with your approach. Pay the $377/mo to card 1 and throw $323 at card 2.