Credit card assistance

sonobia

Hi, I never really paid attention to my credit card statements but just realized Bank of America was charging my interest on my balance of $9,000 (I was charged $215)…

A friend told me that some banks actually give you money back (rewards, interest) for holding your money in their bank.

I’m new to all of this and I’m so lost. As I banking wrong? Should I switch to Chase, PNC, Citibank, Wells Fargo or just stay with Bank of America. So lost, please help, I don’t want to pay these high fees and I want to start saving!

@sonobia Avoid the interest by paying the previous month’s credit card balance in full.

Your friend is probably referring to a high yield savings account and yes, they usually do pay more in interest.

@sonobia You are banking wrong. You borrowed 9,000 from credit card company and they charge you every month until you pay them back. If you want them to pay you money then you need to pay back the credit card and start putting money in a savings account.

@sonobia Some credit cards offer rewards when you spend money with them. I have a credit card that offers 2% cash back on every purchase I make.

Some banks offer high yield savings accounts (HYSA) where you can put your money and it will accrue interest over time. If you have a 5% interest rate on your HYSA and you leave $10,000 in the account, for example, after a year you'll have $10,500 in the account.

If you have a credit card that you currently owe $9,000 on, you're not going to get paid for carrying that balance.

It looks like you were charged $215 on your $9,000 credit card balance. This translates to a 28% or so annual interest rate, which accrues monthly against your balance.

It would be best to pay that card off ASAP.