I’m still fairly new in Canada, from my observations food seems to be quite expensive here. Are there any tips on how to save on groceries especially in Saskatoon.

This is especially so when you compare it to the situation in the U.K where you can easily get a bowl of fruits and veggies for £1 per bowl.

Kindly point me to the right places to shop from, I need to clean up my diet ASAP.

@qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbn yeah, I am from the UK originally too. Food is more expensive here. Generally across the board.

The supermarkets here don't really seem to compete the same way they do at home.

And inflation has made it much more obvious now too after having gotten used to it

@elenya I mean just supermarkets that compete on price. Tesco and Sainsburys advertise against each other on price. Loblaws just says how nice they are, and leave price competition to no frills. And then they all collude on price as is Canadian tradition as everything is an oligopoly.

@elenya We would end up with the same issues - canada in general has a lot of base costs or systems that cause the high pricing in the first place. Supply management is one of the biggest reasons that certain items are so expensive here. Add in all the other areas where government taxes and fees add to costs and it becomes a perfect storm. There is a reason you haven't seen these companies come to canada (as so many call for the entry of trader joes) is because of the supply chain controls and requirements (lets not forget language rules which requires new packaging/labelling to be created) driving up costs across the board making it not realistic for these business models to work. They would also have to set up a complete supply chain here to private label their products which in itself is not simple (see targets disaster).

It all starts with the regulations that drive the market and no politician will ever tackle that one.