faithfilms09

I've been receiving a lot of contracting offers from recruiters lately and some of them look very appealing in terms of the remuneration offered. Had a recent discussion about this with my coworker and we started establishing some pros and cons of contracting, particularly in Aus and NSW.

Is there anything we're missing in terms of why someone would/would not take up a contracting gig for a period of time?

Note - this was not researched in-depth by us. Just wanted some opinions or thoughts on anything we're missing or might be wrong about.

Pros:

1. Remuneration usually pretty high (have seen offers for my skill level of up to $1000+ a day and I'm fairly new to my industry)

2. Flexibility to move around in different company's or organisations within your field

3. Have heard that it does fast-track your development as you're often made to take on additional tasks and made to manage quite a few things at once as contractors typically work on some project based task

Cons:

1. No job security - project could end at any moment even before your contracted period ends. Could this be hedged by going into Govt organisations where its a lot less choppy?

2. No full time entitlements, eg annual leave, sick leave etc

3. No overtime pay. Project being on time and done is when you're done.

4. Could be abused and handed massive amounts of workload

Anything major we're missing? Maybe someone has experience?

@faithfilms09 Pros 3: in my experience, it is the opposite. Companies don't usually invest in contractors and don't care for your progression or improvement. Also, it might be hard for you to take time off for training, as it is missed revenue.

@faithfilms09 Most recruitment agencies will handle that for you, but they take a cut of your pay. Usually quoted day rates at most agencies are AFTER the agency cut. Ask your recruiter.

I've been working as a contractor for years and never done my own payroll tax/super.