Changing tax residency within EU and Degiro

maska

Hello everyone,

I am a bit confused to invest more with Degiro, since I have started investing not that long ago. Would you be so kind to advise me on what will happen if I change my tax residency?
  1. Meaning, I am a Spanish resident, registered with Spanish Degiro and have my Spanish bank account linked. However, I am not sure what will happen if I move f.e. to any other country Degiro does not open accounts in or if I change my tax residency after a while to any other EU country? Will I still be able to invest with the same profile in Degiro? Will it change anything for me on withdrawal, meaning will I be taxed by the current tax country I am in?
  2. Is it easy to change the bank account details, will I face any issues? Are there any other risks I might encounter in 5-15 years having my investments in Degiro broker I registered when I was in Spain?
(My investment goals are accumulating ETFs only, with a long-term vision so that only capital gain tax would apply most probably to these) Thanks in advance

@maska You have to inform them but as long as you're in supported country you can use whichever Degiro domain you want. Tax declaration is onto you, I guess Degiro is providing some kind of annual statements for their customer

@hummel2 I can confirm that.

I You need to provide the changed details and your new Tax ID. since Degiro doesnt deduct any tax (except for the US) by default, you have to do your own taxes with the yearly summary that Degiro provides.

It might make it harder to claim your US dividend Tax back ( in my case not possible so I pay double tax to a degree).

My linked bank account is still in my old country and they have no issues with that.

@klibera Interesting, in Czech Republic you don't have to tax anything that was already taxed in a different country. So since e.g. dividends were already taxed in the US, I don't tax them in Czechia.