Changing careers and moving cities to afford a home - is my budget feasible?

keyboardguy23

I'm currently living in the GTA, and I work in private industry. I am expecting a job offer with the federal government in Edmonton. I am inclined to take this job because it will allow me to move to an area where I can buy a bigger home - I don't like paying so much for rent for the small condo I currently live in.

Here's some information about me:

-Single young man, age 30, no kids. Professionally designated accountant by profession (with a niche specialty).

-Don't spend much on entertainment/going out. My only entertainment is eating out 1x/week for $20, and extra cable channels

-No debt

-Plan to buy a newly constructed duplex about two years after moving (I'll rent at first). It'll be in a sprawling suburban area.

-Job will pay about $90k gross, and will have defined benefit government pension. After all deductions (10% pension deduction, CPP, EI, and taxes), monthly, net pay will be $4,750 (I used a payroll calculator to figure this out). Pay will rise by an average of 3-4%/year (it's a unionized job with a set scale).

-Home costs will be the following (based on today's prices and the financial resources I'll have available):

a. Mortgage: $1,500
b. Property taxes: $300
c. Utilities (power, water, and heating): $300/month average
d. Insurance: $75

Total housing: $2,175

-This leaves me with about $2,500 left. Here's what I'm thinking my costs will be (I'm being conservative here):

a. Groceries = $400 (I'm young and active, and I eat a lot)
b. Personal care = $100
c. Gas = $300
d. Car insurance/registration: $80/month (I drive an old car and only have basic insurance).
e. Car repair: $50
f. TV/internet/phone: $200
g. Eating Out: $150
h. Parking downtown at work: $200
i. Home maintenance: $200 - I'll put this amount aside every month and invest it conservatively so I have money towards a new roof/boiler/upgrades when the time comes
j. Clothes = $100