Career switch at 50lpa

lazar

I work as a Senior AI scientist in one of biggest IT firm with 50+lpa INR yearly package which is quite high for an Indian. However, now I am not motivated anymore. It’s mostly implementation that I have to do and very little research as top research in the field is done only in 2-3 firms which believe me are way far ahead of the world and not possible to catchup due to resource constraints.

Anyways, lately I have been thinking to completely switch my career to something more challenging where there will be high learning curve for me - mainly I am thinking about investment banking.

In the past as well I have done similar switch. I did my bachelors in computer science and worked as a python developer for 2 years. But then I was bored so I did devops job for almost a year but was again bored. That’s when I explored data science as it involves reading a lot of research papers and I enjoy it. But now again I am bored as I feel the job part is really easy and actual research is not possible. I have few patents and papers but that doesn’t fascinates me like the top researchers of open ai or google brain are doing.

But I don’t know if I should really leave my high paying job and a very promising career. I am afraid I might again be bored in 2-3 years.

I am 28 year old, have parents, sister and wife as dependents. I can’t share my feeling with family it will just worry them so reddit only seem option to express and get other perspectives.

Edit: I see few comments and DMs seeking guidance for ML carrer
1. Do andrew ng’s old course on coursera/YT on ML for maths intuition and fundamentals
2. Keep yourself updated on latest research papers as it is quickly evolving. Usually there is something huge every 4-5 years(earlier it was transformer is 2018 now it’s LLM, next could be multimodal)
3. For beginners, try kaggles to improve data centric approaches and just to tryout models

Edit 2: People asking how to get to such package