Car illegally towed and damaged

sourapplecider

Yesterday morning the police came to my door and informed me that my car was towed illegally, and when the tow truck company tried to tow it back, the truck driver was rear ended by another vehicle. The police said the other driver (I'll call them driver B) was at fault, and they happened to be unlicensed (they only had a learner's permit).

What actions should I take here? The claim was filed (driver B's car was insured by state farm) already, how long will that take to process? I'm new to this whole thing.

Also, does the car look totaled? What kind of payout should I expect? It's a 2008 Accord LX with 132k miles, Has a bunch of brand new parts (Timing, Water Pump, Starter, AC, more). Also is the tow company liable too, since the car was damaged in their care?

https://imgur.com/D4w1mkr

https://imgur.com/fIGdDLX

I'm new to all this, never been in an accident or dealt with insurance before.

Edit: I'm in Maryland btw

@sourapplecider Your car is totaled.

This can take a while. If you have your own insurance policy with collision coverage then I’d consider filing through them for a better experience.

@sourapplecider There’s no way for us to say for sure on the amount. It’s whatever the actual cash value comes out to. As to if it is, eyeballing it ID say yes as there is probable frame damage and might exceed its worth to repair. And those items you list dont add to the value. They are required to make the car operable. Maintenance items

If driver B’s insurance accepted liability, it could take a few days or a week for them to determine if a TL and then to handle it. Especially with the holidays.

The tow company does have liability since they were in the wrong and caused the issue to start. But that wont be a factor for you, typically, as long as SF pays the full amount. They’re at fault for the accident. The tow company is at fault for the situation.