Capital Gains Tax on Inherited Equity

barcvilla

Hi, first of all thank you for all your helpful replied. I've learn a lot from this reddit; and now I have a fairly specific case I would need any kind of tip of information to educate myself more. I'll try to be concise and summarize the questions at the end.

I'm a japanese citizen living in japan, but I was a foreigner when my father passed away. At that time, I was on my 3rd year with a working (Humanities) SoR. I naturalized a couple years later.

I understand that anything I inherited from my foreign father, who never touched Japan and had no assets here, is exempt from japanese inheritance tax, as I was a Table 1 visa resident with less than 10 years domicile. (understanding #1)

I recently got transferred some equity on my late father's company (inheritances are very slow in my birth country -not the US nor Europe-). Say 25% stocks on a unlisted company (similar to a K.K.) and 25% equity on a second company (similar to a G.K.). Even if I got them under my name this year, they were transferred by a judge on my father inheritance process, and to Japan I acquired them on the date of the decease, not now. I also inherited the acquisition date/cost from my father. (understanding #2). He got his equity/company over 30 years ago and have no way of knowing the real acquisition cost.

Now, I plan to sell them and get rid of all that. Suppose these numbers and scenarios:

-Sold all my stocks/equity (25% of both companies) for 300k USD.-Local taxes, 5k USD. Lawyer and minor costs, 5k USD.

Scenario 1: Transfer fees to Japan, 5k USD. I receive "clean" 285k USD in a japanese bank account.
  1. Are my both assumptions regarding inheritance (#1 and #2) correct?