Canadian starting online sales in North America - where to incorporate? Please Help with Tax Treatment

emelie

Hi All (re-post from r/Canadianbusiness - Thanks Starbucks)

I am @ whiteboarding stage of my entrepreneurial venture and could really use your help around company setup. I did setup a few "local" businesses previously but my next venture is mostly online and it would take me to a much broader customer base and I would have to incorporate and plan for a whole bunch of stuff.
I plan to connect buyers and sellers and keep their $$ in escrow until they both agree goods are ok. My profit will be based on x% commission, monthly subscriptions, and weekly paid ads. Something like eLance/oDesk plus eBay with a healthy mix of Craigslist.. so no biggie right - sounds straightforward enough - but here is where I get stuck:
I’m in Ontario Canada, would sell services to buyers and sellers in Canada and USA. I’m a complete noob when it comes to online sales and I have to answer the following questions to ensure I set this up right.
1) I plan to incorporate federally in Canada. Do I need to incorporate or apply for anything in the USA as well?
2) Do I have any obligations to register with the IRS :)
3) Every state/province has a different sales tax. I personally would rather avoid this altogether but do I have to charge users their respective tax rate?
Thank you kindly – any other advice or resources on company setup is much much appreciated! Cheers!!

@emelie I can't believe you're relying on advice on such a serious matter from internet strangers. Go talk to an accountant but verify first they have experience in matters such as this. I believe there are treaties in place to deal with this type of issue but you need professional advice.

@orthodoxcrusaderuk This. I'm a financial professional, and I wouldn't touch this with a ten-foot pole, because it's outside my expertise.